Pryor, Lincoln, Berry Announce FEMA Funds for Northeast Arkansas

Pryor, Lincoln, Berry Announce FEMA Funds for Northeast Arkansas

June 22, 2009

Washington – U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and Blanche Lincoln and U.S. Representative Marion Berry (AR-01) today announced that Northeast Arkansas will receive federal funding from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The funds will be used to help with repairs and clean-up from the January ice storm and are allocated as follows:

City of Blytheville, $2,050,289
Clay County Electric Cooperative Corporation, $21,727,435
North Arkansas Electric Cooperative, Inc., $5,300,446
Paragould Light and Water Commission, $2,255,874
Mississippi County Electric Cooperative, $5,824,913
Craighead Electric Cooperative Corporation, $13,598,307

“January’s ice storm caused significant damage to the northern half of our state,” Lincoln said. “In the days after the storm, our first responders and community members answered the call by assisting in the recovery response. I am pleased that the federal government is doing its part to help with recovery efforts in Northeast Arkansas.” 

“Cleaning up the damage and debris required considerable time and manpower,” Pryor said. “I’m pleased FEMA came through with more federal resources to help offset the costs these counties incurred.”

“The January ice storm left Arkansas with severe damage across the entire state,” said Berry. “This funding will provide local officials the resources they need to recover from this natural disaster and rebuild their communities.”

Page Features: